Flag of India

Imagem da Bandeira da Índia

Official name: Republic of India

भारत गणराज्य Bhārat Gaṇarājya in hindi

Capital: New Delhi

Location: South Asia

Date of adoption: July 22, 1947

Proportion: 2:3

The saffron color of the Indian flag means courage, sacrifice and self-denial, white purity and truth, and green faith and fertility. The navy blue wheel with 24 spokes located in the center is known as the Ashoka Chakra. It has spiritual meaning and represents the dynamic character of a peaceful change, carried out progressively.

The national flag, adopted in 1947, is based on the flag of the Indian National Congress and was adopted during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held before Indian independence from Britain. In India, the term “tricolour” (tri Ranga, in Hindi) refers almost always to the national flag.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *